Soup Swap

I had read about soup swaps in a past issue of Edible Seattle, and couldn’t wait to round up half a dozen of my soup-loving friends.  Our first swap was this last Sunday.  Everyone brought six – one quart containers of a favorite homemade soup, and we left with six future dinners to store in our freezers for the busy, winter nights ahead.  In between, we had pumpkin hot toddies and cake, shared more info about the soups we made, and enjoyed each other’s company.

Our haul of soups included:

  • halibut cheese chowder with poppyseed parmesan croutons
  • chicken and black bean enchilada
  • split pea with cheesey crostinis
  • carrot and ginger
  • corn, wild rice and sausage
  • coconut red lentil
  • Albondigas (Mexican meatballs)

We are already looking forward to our second swap in January.  My Thanksgiving started early with this wonderful celebration of sharing food and friendship.  Hope your Thanksgiving is wonderful as well!

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “Soup Swap”

  1. Nia Sayers Says:

    A group of friends and I did this up until recently. I keep hoping we’ll resurrect it again. It’s such a great idea (and fun too)!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I’m a little late to the soup swap party, especially since the idea got an early start in Seattle several years ago. But I am a big fan now. I’d love to know more about your group, and any advice you’d offer. We’re keeping ours small, so everyone trades with everyone else. Our first swap was so much fun, that I think we are off to a roaring start. Hope your Thanksgiving and holiday season are the best!

  2. Linda Says:

    What a great idea and each one of those soups sound delicious! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I could see you starting a soup swap with your zippy circle of friends. The hardest part is deciding what soup to eat next! Many wishes for a tiptop Thanksgiving to you and your family.

  3. France Geek Says:

    Awesome, Beth. I love the creativity, social aspect and the practicality. Oh & healthy. Words I’d use to describe you, my dear.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Oooh – those are nice words to be associated with. It really was a fun event that keeps on giving. I actually feel comforted knowing all that good food is waiting for us in the freezer. Hope all is healthy and happy with you in Aix!

  4. amberrose Says:

    Oh this is such a great idea!! I’m putting it on my New Year’s to do list! 🙂

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      A soup swap will be the perfect way to start your new year off right. We’re having our second one the last part of January. Anticipating a fun event is nearly as much fun as the event itself. Happy holiday wishes to you and your family!

  5. Casey Evans Says:

    I just suggested this to a group of 5 moms that I got together with this morning who have kids around Claire’s age. FUN! The list makes me hungry:)

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I’ll be looking forward to hearing about your swap. It’s my idea of the perfect activity – friendship and food. I am happy every time I open the freezer and see my containters of yummy soups waiting to be enjoyed.

  6. Halibut Recipes Says:

    Halibut Recipes…

    […]Soup Swap « Beth Evans-Ramos Blog[…]…

  7. Stacy Says:

    Surely you already did your January soup swap, right? Can I come to your next one? I love soup and am sure I could come up with a winner to swap! 🙂

Leave a Reply

