The Happiness Project

One of the first things to go when I feel overwhelmed is reading books.  Instead of feeling like a refuge, it feels like one more thing I’m not doing “good enough”.  With the craziness of owning two homes behind me, I have more freedom to choose how to use my time.  First up was The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin.  It is a gem of common sense suggestions.  Each month of the year has a virtue to focus on – ranging from boost energy, to be serious about play, and keep a contented heart.

One of my favorite lines, which gratefully I am feeling too:  “Each day I felt more joy and less guilt; I had more fun, less anxiety.  My life was pleasanter with cleaner closets and a cleaner conscience.”

Tags: ,

6 Responses to “The Happiness Project”

  1. Jane H. Says:

    Thanks, Beth, for recommending this book – I think I will pick up a copy! I have a very important hurdle coming up in November but, afterward, I will make plans to go sit in a chair and read!

  2. kare n w. Says:

    I have that on my wish list on amazon! I also want to tell you to go to this website i saw in S. Times. http://www.facebook.com/visitjapan Free tickets to Japan!!!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Thanks for the link for Japan travel. I will check it out. We are headed there next April. I’d appreciate any tidbits you have to share about your previous trips there. We are really looking forward to this future adventure!

  3. Julie Says:

    I just found the perfect birthday gift for Luc. Thank you B, for all your wonderful ideas and inspiration.

Leave a Reply

