Community

Here’s a snapshot of our most recent neighborhood shindig.  Once a month we have a potluck dinner in the middle of our cul de sac.  We all moved here within a few months of each other, and instantly bonded into a community of neighbors.  And we discovered right away that we like each other’s cooking, as well as company!

I volunteered to do the dessert for our last feast.  I made this Pavlova (it’s a meringue that you bake until it’s chewy instead of crisp), layered with homemade lemon/lime curd, whipped cream and berries.  There were no leftovers.

Tags: , ,

12 Responses to “Community”

  1. Cindy Pestka Says:

    Oh…my…very…goodness…I think visions of Pavlovas will be dancing in my head…

  2. Tricia Says:

    My stepson looks very handsome!!, as does the Pavlova. Tricia xxx

  3. Julie Says:

    Wish I lived in your ‘hood…

  4. carole Says:

    That is so cool. I’ve always wanted to live in a neighborhood like that, having grown up rural, but in a close knit area. I gave up on it long ago though. Sad huh?

  5. eileenhsunyc Says:

    OMG ok, I want some of that desert! I see what you guys are up to since Morgan and I left Seattle

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      We’ll have to plan your next summer visit so it coincides with a neighborhood feast. You did get the blackberry streusel coffeecake though. I’m still dreaming about that yummy thing.

  6. Morgan Evans Son of Beth Says:

    I don’t feel that bad, as that Pavlova was quite delicious during our summer holiday a few weeks ago. If it was chocolate cherry bars then I would be bitter and jealous.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      No chocolate cherry bars until your next visit during the holidays. My jeans are still tight from your recent visit! Between home cooking and a couple of special meals out, we ate well.

Leave a Reply

