Happiness in a Cupboard

I have been having so much fun canning recently – Brandied Cherries, Holiday Cherries (sort of a sweet and sour, spicey and yummy concoction), Strawberry Conserve and Boozy Orange Marmalade.  Both of the cherries recipes are from Canning for a New Generation by Liana Krissoff.  The orange marmalade recipe is from Amy Pennington’s Urban Pantry.  And I have a bunch of recipes marked to try in another wonderful canning book, Tart and Sweet by Kelly Geary and Jessie Knadler.  These recipes are a far cry from the jellyfish-like peaches my mom put up.

I have all of my little jars of goodness on their own shelf in a cupboard.  Yesterday I went to admire them more than once.  With each viewing, I felt happy.  It could be my new favorite stress reliever!

Tags: , , ,

6 Responses to “Happiness in a Cupboard”

  1. France Geek Says:

    Does that ever look orderly, creative, top notch, Beth! O to live like that. Love it! It reminds me of a French vintage poster I have. I’ll have to send you a pic.

    Bisous
    Jill

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      It’s great to hear from you! Thanks for the shots of your fabulous posters. The orderliness of canning really appeals to my need for some bit of control in my life. Yet you still get to be creative with the contents. And best of all, you get to eat your creations!

  2. Julie Says:

    You are amazing!

  3. carole Says:

    Hasn’t our cherry crop here in the NW been fabulous?!

    We bought organic cherries a couple of week back for less than what we usually buy conventional for in the past. We canned 11 pints (sadly, one broke in the canning process), and we’ve eaten a lot!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      It has been a spectacular cherry season! Well worth the wait with the cool weather we had. Do you can your cherries in a simple sugar syrup, or do you add anything else? That is so sad that one of your pints broke though. I haven’t lost a jar yet, but I’m still a beginner canner. It’s useful to know it can happen.

Leave a Reply

