Free Piano

Our antique piano needs a new home.  It is the most sentimental thing I’ve had to part with, as it came over on the boat with my family in the early 1900’s.  I inherited it when I was 16 years old, and have moved it to each of the  three houses Raoul and I have lived in.  There is no room for it in the fourth (and last).  We don’t play, and our sons have no need and/or room for it.

The piano is free. 

It needs a major tune-up, and is really heavy.  We need it picked up (from Mill Creek) by June 28.  Sooner is better.

If you are interested, please leave a comment on my blog.  If there is more than one taker, I’ll put the names in a bowl and pick.  Thanks!

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Free Piano”

  1. Gayle Says:

    I hesitate to suggest this…..but you are the queen of recycling, and I have seen incredible pieces of art made out of old pianos. It could be a way of keeping it with you. Just an idea. 🙂

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Your suggestion is really good. In fact, I have the insides of another piano hanging on a wall in our great room as a piece of sculpture. My sentimental side wants this piano to still be a piano. And I’m happy to report that my friend, Hellen, is adopting it. Plus she lives sort of close, so I could even visit it from time to time in the future. Thanks for sharing the great advice.

  2. carole Says:

    I know all about letting something like this go.

    My husband inherited a piano very similar to this one from his parents when we were married. Unfortunately our piano had been painted a black lacquer, which was chipping and crazed. There were also cigarette burns on the keys, and several other problems. We priced it out, but to have it refurbished would have cost more than it was worth, even for sentimental reasons. We lugged that thing around to two different houses before saying ‘enough is enough’.

    Hubby decided that much as he loved that antique piano, an electric was more to his liking at that point in time. So we traded it in, where it was to be refurbished and resold. I hope that someone now has it who loves it.

    Incidentally, during the second move we hired a piano moving company because it was so heavy. They ended up dropping it off of their truck, which of course did nothing to help the already damaged condition.

    I’m glad you found a taker. It’s a lovely piano (and I couldn’t disassemble it for art either).

    I had been going to suggest that you take a photograph of it before letting it go (wish I had thought of that with ours), but since it’s close by and you can ‘visit’, I guess there’s little need for that. 🙂

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Thanks for sharing your piano love story. It’s a great one! Of all the things to be sentimental about, a piano is about the bulkiest and heaviest possession I can think of. At least I know I’m not the only one. I like your idea of taking a good picture of it.

  3. Hal Says:

    Oh, you are good. YOu may inspire me to do the same

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I gotta tell you it ended up being so bittersweet to say goodbye to this piano. I knew it was going to a wonderful home, with a family that was going to take care of it and play music on it again. But once it was loaded in their truck and pulling out of our driveway, I had myself a good cry. My emotions are so tangled up with my stuff. Now that a few days have passed, I’m glad I went through the surprisingly painful process of letting it go. Good luck with your piano!

Leave a Reply

