Peace and Plenty

A big plus of riding the train from Seattle to Portland and back was the time to read.  My friend Christie had given me Peace and Plenty by Sarah Ban Breathnach, the author of Simple Abundance – a major hit when it was published.  Her story is she made millions, lost millions and is sharing her wisdom about financial serenity.  This book struck a chord with me as Raoul and I finish month thirteen of trying to sell our former home, and supporting two homes in the process.  It’s been financially and emotionally unpleasant, to put it mildly.  I’ve had to face my fears over money.  And in my journey towards a simpler and more authentic life, examine the concept of what is enough financially.  Which spills over into what is enough stuff.

I have plenty, and am working on the peace part.

An excerpt from a book written by the actress Arlene Francis, quoted in this book, was what I needed to hear:

“As long as you are doing the best you can, you have nothing to fear.”

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Peace and Plenty”

  1. Karen Says:

    I have read simple abundance and must pick this one up. Love the quote. It was what I needed to hear too!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      You can borrow my copy if you’d like. Unless you’d like to own your own. We could meet at someplace like PCC in Edmonds for the transfer. It’s an easy read with short chapters – similar to Simple Abundance.

  2. Michelle Says:

    First time visitor…I can relate WAY too much to this post. We owned two homes for a year….I still have anxiety and it’s been over 3 years since it was sold. Financially….well, we are different….maybe it’s a good thing 🙂
    Good luck with finding peace and selling your former home!
    Hugs from Iowa,
    Michelle at Pine Needle Hill

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Thanks for the hugs all the way from Iowa. It helps to know others have been in a similar financial situation and understand the stress I’m talking about and feeling. I even feel guilty feeling like this situation is hard, because there are so many other folks in worse financial binds. I appreciate your good thoughts and support! Beth

Leave a Reply

