Brooklyn Flea Market

 

A highlight of our recent trip to New York City was our day in Brooklyn, starting with the Brooklyn Flea at Ft. Greene on Saturday.  (There is a Sunday session of the Brooklyn Flea  at One Hanson Place.)  The Evans-Ramos team of The Good Husband Raoul, and tour guide/subway masters Morgan and Eileen hit the flea as soon as it opened.  I was meeting my newest friend, Kathy Malone of Fofolle and Clementine Events, for a skirt/poncho special delivery. 

I had spotted Kathy’s designs in this extremely handy book, Markets of New York City by Karen E. Seiger.  After a couple of introductory emails back and forth, we had a plan to meet in person at the flea.  I loved my new skirt on sight!  It will be the perfect travel clothing – as it doubles as a poncho/shoulder wrap or an ultra-comfortable skirt.  Kathy has since introduced me to Karen.  I can’t recommend her book enough.  It contains the best info on the artisan, farmer, food and flea markets in NYC.

This flea has lots of vintage wonders.  What an amazing collection of vintage eyeglass frames.

These repurposed barstools were spectacular.

The handmade crafts were most tempting.

Eileen modeling her new dress.  I bought a little flowered number from this charming designer, Cornelius.  I’m sorry I didn’t get a better picture of him.

Team E-R was well fed. 

The puposa stand provided our favorite selection.

I bought several pieces of Wrecords jewelry made from recycled vinyl records.

We spent the rest of the day exploring the Williamsburg neighborhood of Brooklyn – finding another great flea market, terrific food and one indie shop after another.  It was heaven!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Brooklyn Flea Market”

  1. Julie Says:

    What fun! I’m drooling.

  2. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    I’m looking forward to our next visit to NYC already! I want to check out the Sunday version of the Brooklyn Flea, and explore Brooklyn some more.

Leave a Reply

