Saving Stuff

When stuff is sentimental, my purging abilities come to a huge halt.  My  mom loved stuff too.  She even wrote notes about her favorite possessions on index cards, and kept them in a recipe box.  I’m glad she did, or I would have forgotten this great story.

The card says:

Doll dishes (blue with butterflies)

early 1920s

Blue – my first set of dishes

Cat jumped out of my arms, knocking cupboard down – broke all but these

2 plates

1 cup & saucer

1 sugar bowl and cream

1979 appraisal $10.00

2010 appraisal – There will be room for these at our new house.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Saving Stuff”

  1. H-Feath Says:

    Beth – I just LOVE your blog. particularly this entry. 🙂 Have a great weekend!

  2. Lisa Hilderbrand Says:

    Of course they will be staying…could that note be any sweeter?…I just wish I knew the name of the kitty!
    Lisa

  3. Karen Says:

    That is such a great idea! I should encourage my mom to do that with her stuff. I will do that with the little “stuff” I have left. 🙂

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I also recently ran across some sheets and pillowcases she had embroidered, and left paper notes telling which ones she did. I had been saving them, and realized I could and should be using them! Maybe some of the extra special pillowcases I’ll put aside for my grandchildren to discover one day, and treasure.

  4. Linda Says:

    The note itself is a treasure…what a sweet story!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      When my mom would tell me these stories about her things, I had no idea at the time, that I could actually forget them one day. I am a big fan of writing things down on paper now that my memory isn’t as iron-clad as it once was!

  5. sandra schneider Says:

    This whole entry brought a lump to my throat. I have a few of my mother’s childhood treasures which always seem to make the cut. Actually, they get put aside before the culling begins. I have been good about labeling photos and keepsakes with names. Now I’ll start writing down little stories to go with them. Thank you for the sweet reminder of fleeting memories.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Thanks for your very thoughtful comment. I am trying to do a better job of labeling and dating things. There’s something extra special about finding things written in our loved ones’ writing.

Leave a Reply

