Hodgepodge = Gallimaufry

It is constantly amazing to me what a google search can do.  I remember being 11 years old, and my parents splurged and bought a brand new 1963 encyclopedia set.  It was such a big deal.  I didn’t need to have my mom drive me into town to the library to look something up for special reports anymore. 

Now, the same day as I posted this blog entry, I was contacted by Liz of Obscure Word Love, asking permission to use this picture of my bookcase of jars.  She writes an entertaining blog about neglected and forgotten words.  She did a google search for hodgepodge, and long story short, ended up at my blog.  She felt my jars of this and that would be a good fit for the word gallimaufry, which essentially means hodgepodge.  I was delighted to help her out.  And learn a new word at the same time!

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Hodgepodge = Gallimaufry”

  1. Cindy Pestka Says:

    As soon as I figure out how to pronounce it, I’m going to shamelessly incorporate “gallimaufry” into darn near every conversation I ever have about my art room. Gallimaufry sounds a bazillion times better than “teetering piles of cast-off objects that I probably will never use but nevertheless cannot possibly part with”. Ahhhh, I feel calmer already.

  2. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    Teetering piles sounds way more exciting and fun though!

  3. Cindy Pestka Says:

    Actually “gallimaufry” sounds like a place to visit in Ireland…

Leave a Reply

