Organized Packrat

Here’s a few shots of how I organize my loot.  If I could only be attracted to things that would fit in clear jars, I’d be in good shape.  I need to see my supplies, and be able to access them easily.

I used to own lots more paper than this.  Now only my very favorites fill up this old copper pan. 

I still own several lifetimes of ribbon.  There used to be a ribbon annex that filled most of another bookcase.  My progress is my ribbon obsession all fits on this vintage shoe rack now.

Some purging success evidence – empty storage boxes!  That used to be stuffed to the brim.  They will be handy for moving things to our new house.

Tags: , ,

17 Responses to “Organized Packrat”

  1. Cindy Pestka Says:

    I can’t wait to see how you set up your studio in your new house.

    I’m with you – if I can’t see my supplies it’s like they don’t exist and I don’t use them. But of course there’s only so much room to contain and display our treasures. The ceiling is about the only surface I don’t have completely covered…wait a minute…(wandering off to take a second look at my ceiling)…

    • Tracie Luthi Says:

      Pestka, calm down, bring your eyes down to the horizon. It’s soothing and relaxing on the horizon…..

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I am all about figuring out how to use the ceiling for more storage! Our new garage will be big enough for two cars, my rolling workbench and maybe a couple of shelves. Which is totally reasonable for normal folks. I want to figure out a big shelf to suspend from the ceiling. It would be wrong to waste all that overhead space.

  2. Lisa Hilderbrand Says:

    Hooray!

  3. Julie Herbison Says:

    I am swooning over your ribbons, papers and jars of crafty goodness. I just wish my craft room or as my husband calls it (crap room) looked as organized and fabulous as yours.

    JH

  4. Julie Says:

    Oh, I think that shoe rack ribbon storage is inspired! I love it. I have so much junk like that that I never see. I am so into getting organized – it’s going to take at LEAST a year, but I’m determined. I really would love to walk into a room without worrying that piles of stuff will fall on me!

    Julie

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Thanks for the shoe rack love. I am extra happy when I can use some vintage piece for my organizing base. Congratulations on your determination! It was a slow go for me – getting my stuff into a orderly and user-friendly state. To keep from not feeling over-whelmed I would focus on one small thing at a time – one category – start a container for it – and leave some extra room in it for future accumulations. But once it was full, tell myself that was plenty of that item. Please keep me posted on your process.

  5. Sue Andersen Says:

    The paper and ribbon purging is very impressive indeed! I had to smile at your papers since I recognize 99% of them (and many of the ribbons). Don’t worry if you are having second thoughts about getting rid of anything, …it’s still at my house.

  6. liz Says:

    I love how you can see everything!! If you only keep your favorites around – you will always be inspired!!! Great job on the purging of things!! I need to do the same!! 🙂 liz

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      It feels really good to make deliberate decisions about what is still meaningful to me, as far as the stuff I keep around me. For too long, some things got to lay around and accumulate because there was room for it. I have learned that was neither handy or healthy. Thanks for your kind words.

  7. amberrose Says:

    Looks good lady! I need to take a lesson from you!!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Amber – Thanks for dropping by. I’ll trade you organizing lessons/show & tell tour for any photography tips anytime. I easily see patterns and systems to keep my stuff somewhat under control. But when I read the how to book for my new camera, I feel squirrelly, scattered and crazy!

  8. Frenchee le Trip Says:

    This is all terrific. You’re touching on so many of my passions and demi passions: vintage, display, crafts, organizing….even if I don’t practice daily I love thinking and reading about organizing. Organization is key to success and well being – way to go, Beth.

Leave a Reply

