Photographer In Our Bathtub

My good friend, Julie Sotomura, is an extraordinary professional photographer.  One of her specialties is pet portraits, and obviously she will do whatever it takes to get an incredible shot!  We recently received sad health news about our beloved kitty, Harry.  As a most thoughtful and compassionate gift, Julie offered to take Harry’s picture.  And wouldn’t you know it, Harry recently decided his favorite place to nap is in our bathtub.

Here’s some action shots of the two of them.

Hank, Harry’s brother, showed up to see what was going on.  He declined an invitation to join them.

Now for Julie’s terrific photos of Handsome Harry.

Please visit Julie’s website, Photomura, to find out more about this talented woman.  We are doing another exciting project together, which I’ll share more about one day soon.  Julie created my blog banner, and took the captivating banner picture of what rests on our piano.  She is an absolute dream to work with.  Julie is smart, artistic, intuitive and truly listens.

And Harry loves her too.

Tags: ,

19 Responses to “Photographer In Our Bathtub”

  1. Cindy Pestka Says:

    My heart is filled with joy and a little sadness. Joy because knowing Julie and seeing her in action cannot help but make me smile and be very, very glad to count her as a friend. Joy because two very lucky kitties have a wonderful mama who loves them very much. And a little sadness because of Harry’s health news. But seeing Julie in the bathtub, doing whatever it takes to get that perfect shot, is just delightful! And the end results prove what we’ve known all along…she is a MASTERFUL photographer!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Cindy,

      We are two lucky girls to count Julie as our friend. I am in awe of her – she has all the left brain smarts, the right brain creativity, and is also a big bunch of fun to work and play with!

  2. jeannie Says:

    Beautiful pictures of Harry. Sorry to hear that he is not doing well. Hugs, Jeannie

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Jeannie,

      Thanks for the hugs. I am thrilled with the pictures Julie took of him. Harry is doing okay for the time being – the cortisone shot he received made a huge difference in his comfort. We’re enjoying each day with him all the more.

  3. Julie Sotomura Says:

    It was a delightful day spent in the tub with Harry (and Hank for a brief appearance). I’m happy we were able to capture some shots of these handsome boys. Looking forward to more collaborations.

  4. Cindy Pestka Says:

    Julie is going to take my picture tomorrow. Now anyone who knows me KNOWS I do NOT like having my picture taken. I was actually tempted to wiggle out of it until I saw Julie in the bathtub and the resulting shots of Harry. How could I NOT have fun? How could the pictures NOT turn out great? And as Julie pointed out, I could always lay in the bathtub since that apparently is the money shot!

  5. Cindy Pestka Says:

    I very much appreciate your offer Beth because MY tub is not….shall we say…as “photo-worthy” of Photomura as yours!

  6. Jessica Holmes Says:

    These photographs are amazing! I’m sorry to hear Harry isn’t doing well – you know I love those “little” kitties…

    Hope all is well 🙂

  7. Lisa Hilderbrand Says:

    Hi Harry…what beautiful photos Julie took of you! Looking forward to kissing you on Sunday…And looking at your butt!

  8. Tracie Luthi Says:

    Julie is a wonderful, wonderful photographer. And I’m so glad to see the beautiful photos of Harry. I wish my hair has been behaving so well last time I was photographed!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Tracie,

      Julie is a magician with her cameras and lenses. Harry usually looks a little scruffier. But between Harry being in love with her, and Julie’s genuine fondness for pets, the result was pictures of Harry looking extra handsome.

  9. amberrose Says:

    Ahh sweet post..very sweet pictures!! I’m so sorry about your sad news:(

  10. Frenchee le Trip Says:

    Terrific post! I loved watching Julie and kitty in action. Wonderful for you to have these magnificent photos.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Jill,

      Watching Julie and our kitty, Harry, work together for his big shoot was most entertaining. I’m pretty sure Harry had the most fun of all of us. He totally trusted Julie, and counts her as one of his very best girlfriends.

Leave a Reply

