Welcome

I’ve reinvented my life (again)!  My latest business endeavor is selling ideas instead of stuff.  Salvage Studio has been retired.  Very amicably, I might add.  You can visit Lisa’s new blog, Lisa’s Little House, on my blog roll to find out how to keep in touch with her, and everything she is doing.

My new focus is on public speaking, teaching workshops and consulting to convey ideas and inspiration to live a greener life.  I still am passionate about rescuing good junk and repurposing it into new creations.  Although, the New Beth has no desire to ever fill a 5,900 square foot house and a three car garage with things brimming with possibilities again.  I feel I have my hoarding tendencies somewhat under control. 

So my husband, Raoul, and I have our home listed for sale, have bought a much smaller home, and have been downsizing like crazy.  Our new home will be in a small eco-village of four homes, closer to Seattle.  We are really looking forward to living in our five-star, green built home.

It’s an amazing feeling of freedom to be living with less stuff!  I’ve been busy creating, and going on adventures near and far.  Please visit again to share my hope and joy of living a greener life.

Tags: , ,

15 Responses to “Welcome”

  1. Julie Buck Says:

    Congratulations! You sound like you are on the brink of a wonderful adventure. Keep us all “in the loop”. I would love to know the “hows” of your downsizing – yes, in excruciating detail… I’m drowning over here, hahaha.

    Julie

  2. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    Hi Julie,
    We started by buying a house one-third the size of the one we are living in. There’s a motivator for you. The first round of stuff for the garage sale and/or to donate to charity was easy to do. By the time the garage sale arrived, I had done a second round of letting go. It got harder to part with some things, but I was happy when they were adopted by people that appreciated them. Now I am addicted to purging more than acquiring! I am at a point where I can let some more sentimental things go. The installment plan is working for me. I’ll revisit a closet I thinned out a month ago, and find I can let loose of a few more things at this time.

    It feels so good to be living with stuff I truly love. That’s a nice reinforcement too.

    Good luck!

    Beth

  3. Julie Buck Says:

    Thanks, Beth – I will take this and run with it a bit. My hubby will only leave this house feet first, and as I still have some chores for him to do, that’ll be awhile! ;-> But I know I’ll be much happier when every surface is not cluttered with things. The hard part, of course, is that each thing on it’s own is fine – I like it, maybe I love it, but all together, it’s overwhelming! I will get there, but can always use more advice and encouragement! My first big leap is getting rid of hundreds of books – I’m still grappling with the “but it’s a BOOK” idea, but hopefully, someone else can read and enjoy them, and I can have some space back…

    Thanks so much for the help…

    Julie

  4. Selena Says:

    It’s been so fun to keep in touch with you Beth. I still remember that day coming into your studio and meeting the three of you. I can’t begin to share how much I wanted your life. 🙂 But I understand how passion leads you down different roads. I really wished I had gone to your garage sale though. Still happily hoarding and selling down here in California.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Selena,

      It is really great to hear from you! I remember that visit of yours vividly. If you are headed to the NW, please keep me posted. It would be fun to get caught up in person. I still occasionally go trolling at the Goodwill Outlet store for vintage fashion nuggets or other clothing pieces I can deconstruct. You’d be swell company.

      Beth

  5. Cindy Pestka Says:

    Welcome back to blog-land; I missed you!!!! I love the crisp, clean feel of your new blog…and I can’t wait to follow your latest adventures and creative tips!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Thanks for the kind words. I’m striving for more simplicity in all parts of my life – including the look of this blog. It was restorative to take a break from blogging. Now I’m back with a new vision and a bunch of fresh ideas!

  6. rust and ruffles Says:

    Hi Beth,
    Best of luck in your new venture…..exciting, but surprising news!!!
    xojanis

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Janis,

      Thanks for your well wishes. It’s a happy ending for the two of us. We are still good friends, and now get to pursue what we like best. I still love junk. I loved it too much! I discovered I have hoarding tendencies. So getting out of the retail end of this business was a healthy choice for me. I’ll still keep one foot in the world of vintage, and am excited to have the other in the green, sustainable world. And vintage is the original green. Thanks for visiting my blog. I hope you’ll stay in touch.

  7. jeannie Says:

    hello!!!

  8. sandra schneider Says:

    Beth,

    On one hand,I was surprised to learn of the disbanding of the Salvage Studio.On the other hand, I am so excited for your new ventures!

    Loved the photo of you in front of the SixxDesign digs. Great sleuthing!

    To jog your memory,I first saw a tiny write-up in a gardening magazine about the Salvage Sisters and tracked you down in Lynnwood, crashed a garden tour with my sister-in-law one year at your house (cheeky of me), learned a lot from your classes and demonstrations, and still cherish your book and the Value Village calendar from ago.

    I envy your France flea market journeys and will follow your blog about all things green and simple.

    I have been purging my own stash, giving away and donating to silent auctions, offering to daughters who have little interest in Mom’s junk, and clearing out a garage where I just may park a car again!

    Keep taking care and inspiring us with your wit and designer’s eye.

    Sandy

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Sandy,

      I remember you, and am so glad you visited my new blog and left such a lovely comment! Please keep me posted on your garage clearing progress. I am here to tell you – it’s a HUGE day when you can drive your car into the garage again.

  9. renee roadruck Says:

    HI BETH,

    REALLY ENJOYED READING YOUR BLOG. THIS WAS MY VERY FIRST BLOG AND I ENJOYED THE EXPIERENCE. SO THANK YOU FOR MY POSITIVE MOMENT OF THE DAY.
    LOVE,RENEE

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Renee,

      Welcome to blogland! Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I feel honored – especially since I was your first. It’s great to hear from you. Next you’ll be sharing tidbits on Facebook?! I found some West High friends there. Hope to see you one day soon.

      Beth

Leave a Reply

