Clematis Chain

I borrowed this great idea from my clever friend, Julie.  I am training three clematis vines to climb these posts of this arbor structure.  It was super easy to hang sections of chain with nails hammered into the posts.  Now each vine has something to attach itself to.  I’m winding the stems around the posts for extra support as well.  Once they reach the promised land of the top beam, they can travel sideways and work themselves down the posts too.  I only moved the viticella clematis vines (their blossoms are smaller and bell-shaped) from our old garden to our new one.  They are loyal plant friends and never do the wilt thing to you.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “Clematis Chain”

  1. Julie Says:

    It’s always fun to see how you’re beautifying your home. I have to give credit to Lisa Hilderbrand for the chain idea, though (although thank you for thinking that I’m that clever!)

  2. lenore1752 Says:

    I LOVE this idea.I’d like to put 3 or 5 of them along a wall…with some low voltage uplights. Are there any more pics of this type of thing so I can bring it to my board first?

    • Mama Knows Her Cocktails Says:

      I’m glad you like the clematis chain idea. This is the only picture and example I have. The chains are working beautifully. Easy, attractive and functional. Adding lights sounds like a great idea. The only downside is that the vines go dormant for the winter, and look sort of bare then.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

