My $38 Photography Light

 

I am determined to take better photographs!  I’ve got my big girl camera off of the automatic setting.  Thanks Julie!  I also learned so much about photography specific to blogging from the splendid Blogging Your Way course I took from Holly Becker and Leslie Shewring recently.

Our guest bedroom is serving double duty as my new photography studio.  Instead of forking over triple digit bucks to buy a light on a tripod with a reflecting umbrella, I created this assemblage to do the trick.  I was inspired by this really useful post by local food blogger, Matt Wright. 

I started with a vintage floor lamp that had been gutted, which I already owned.  Attached a clip-on light from Lowes ($8) and a genuine light reflecting umbrella from Glazers ($30) with an extra clamp I had on hand.  The darn thing works well!

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “My $38 Photography Light”

  1. Julie Says:

    I love that you put your personal touch on what is normally a pretty utilitarian setup. Looking forward to playing with this next Monday at “Studio B”!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I’m very excited to have your talented self in my quasi-photography studio. Boy oh boy – do I need some help with my close-ups. But my painted door for my backdrop/surface is looking mighty spiffy!

  2. Donna Clement Says:

    Great advice Beth! I too struggle with the close-up photography! Looks like I’ve got a project!!!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I would also like to add a macro lens to my arsenal. Unfortunately, I don’t know how to create a substitute for something like that from items in my garage or from the hardware store!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

