Bartering Is the Best Bargain

For a bargain lover like me, bartering is the best.  It’s a win/win for everyone.  My friend Dawn admired a lovely vintage sofa we no longer needed.  Dawn is a talented landscaper with an abundance of plants she has acquired from various jobs.  I would love more plants for our new garden.  So here is our sofa loaded up in Dawn’s truck on its way to live with her.  Next week I’ll be loading up my car with free plants from Dawn’s house.  And you might remember how much plant material my trusty Subaru can hold!

Another barter I’m enjoying is with my friend Julie.  She suggested that I could be her gardening coach, and in return, she would be my photography coach.  We recently spent a fun morning at a nursery finding some interesting yet low maintenance and drought tolerant plants for her garden.  In this photo, I’ve brought a surplus of a lovely grass I have, carex ‘Ice Dancer’, and showed Julie how to divide it up with one of my favorite gardening tools, the Hori Hori.  Regular hands work well too.  Julie is a natural when it comes to propagation.   

Next up was my first photography lesson, and I got my camera off of the automatic setting!  I am really encouraged to start taking better pictures.  Stay tuned for my DIY photo studio (aka the guest bedroom) reveal.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Bartering Is the Best Bargain”

  1. Julie Says:

    I still think I got the better end of the barter! I’m loving seeing the plants in the garden, and Lucky is quite impressed.

  2. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    I’m very happy Lucky is happy too! It was so much fun working in your garden.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

