Plant Search and Rescue

Such a beautiful sight – free plants!  I seem to have replaced one addiction – rescuing good junk with another – rescuing good plants.  One of the few silver linings of our former home still being on the market, is we have the time and energy to move some plants from our old garden to our new one.

The beginning of our new hydrangea garden.  This probably looks like a bunch of sticks to some.  But gardening for me is about hope and patience.

I’m dreaming and visualizing when this space will look as heavenly as our old garden.  And even better with some hard-earned wisdom I’ve learned about low maintenance and drought tolerant virtues of garden design.  Plus I’m excited to include as many edibles as possible. 

Gardening is all about optimism.

Tags: , ,

8 Responses to “Plant Search and Rescue”

  1. Gayle Says:

    Look like a blue lining to me…glad you are taking some of them with you, beautiful!!

  2. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    My gardening cloud does indeed have a blue lining. Hydrangeas are my #1 favorite plant – so much interest through the seasons for so little work!

  3. Karen Says:

    I love hydrangeas! I bought my mom a climbing one last year for mothers day.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      One of my rescues was a climbing hydrangea that I had planted in the wrong (too shady) part of our last garden. Now it has room and more light to strut its stuff on one of our big rain barrels. It nearly jumped into my arms when I was getting it out of the ground from its old garden spot.

  4. Claire D Says:

    I love hydrangeas!! I would love to rescue my parents garden but I dont think i would be able to. Ive been learning a lot about gardening recently but i still have a lot more to learn!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Gardening is such a humbling art. Mother Nature has other ideas about what happens to what we’ve created. I appreciate that though. It helps me keep my perspective on the big picture. Your climate would be ideal for hydrangeas. So similar to ours I believe.

  5. Jill Says:

    I too am an optimistic gardener!! Have to, or I’d quit and that would never do!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I’m excited to hear from you! It’s always special to find a kindred spirit who loves rescuing stuff – growing and non-growing. I read the section on your blog about your tank garden. Your husband is a true gem. I am lusting after stock tanks for some raised vegetable beds we are going to do this year. Ours will probably be shiny new, and I’ll be happy when they tarnish. Yours have the perfect patina!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

