I Will Not Hoard. I Will Not Hoard. I Will Not Hoard.

I swear this recent move of ours has cured me of hoarding!  We have been in our new house a little less than three months.  I was determined to not have this garage become a storage unit.  When we had that extra cold spell back in November, I cleared a spot for Raoul’s car.  And after some more garage purging and organizing, my car fit in there this week.  I seem to have lost my tolerance for clutter.

Now we still can’t open our car doors very wide yet.  So I’ll continue to peck away, and keep thinning my stuff.  And if I start to veer off of this road to a simpler life, I’ll look at this picture of our former garage. 

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “I Will Not Hoard. I Will Not Hoard. I Will Not Hoard.”

  1. Karen Says:

    I har you! We have a storage unit in our condo complex that is starting to look like your old garage. Major purge is going on right now. :)

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Good for you for the purge! It is so weird to look at that pic of our former garage, and realize I got used to it. Having all that stuff became normal. Now I know how much of a burden it was.

  2. Teri Says:

    Easier said than done! I can’t even get my garage door closed!!!

  3. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    Don’t worry about any judging coming from my way! I totally understand how a garage can get over full. Especially when your business is finding, fixing and selling vintage things like you do with your gorgeous looking shop. Hope to meet you in person and see Vintage Station on our next trip towards Portland.

  4. carolew Says:

    Ours isn’t as bad as your ‘before’ garage, as we do have shelving units with things stored away, but we still have more clutter than is necessary. Sad considering we’re not hoarders, and some of the excess comes from simply bringing home intended projects on my part. Projects that never see the light of day once they are inside those four walls.

    Congratulations on the car inside the garage (two no less)!

    We’ve never had a car in our garage, not in any of the three houses we’ve lived in. And our last house had a three car garage! Go figure.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      It’s hard to resist those projects – bargains that need just a little bit of work. Or a lot more once you try to tackle one of them! I’m still bringing a few things like that home. Moving made me decide which unfinished materials I really wanted to fuss with. Not that many made the cut.

      Good luck finding some time to do some of the most fun projects!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

