Losing 30+ Pounds in My Late Fifties

Besides shedding stuff, I’ve been shedding some unwelcome pounds the last year.  It began with my annual check-up in June of 2009.  My weigh-in showed a new number on the scale.  Most of us know how those few pounds here and there sneak back on over time.  Seeing that higher number seemed to jar me to my senses, and motivate me to do something about it.

I wish I had some magic advice to share.  I ate more healthy foods, cut way back on my treats (which had been a big bowl of popcorn most evenings) and walked more.  At first I was going to drop ten pounds, MAYBE twenty.  The first ten was not easy, but I started reinforcing my healthier habits.  By the end of the holidays, I had lost the twenty pounds.  It had come off gradually.  I felt great!  And then I got more brave, and set a new goal of another ten pounds going away.  I stayed motivated because I enjoyed feeling so much better. 

I finally grasped the simple concept that eating something (usually to cope with some emotional need) was not going to make me feel happier than I felt weighing this new, healthier amount.  And don’t get me wrong, I still love food!

By the time of this year’s check-up in June, I had achieved my newest goal.  I feel this weight loss goes hand in hand with de-cluttering my life.  A big house and three car garage crammed full of stuff was not working for me anymore.  And neither was hauling around 30+ extra pounds!

Tags: , ,

16 Responses to “Losing 30+ Pounds in My Late Fifties”

  1. cindy Says:

    Congratulations, I am trying to loose a bit myself. Started on Monday, and it is not easy. I think I had my last bag of popcorn at the movies on Sunday night. I don’t think I can go to the movies until I shed these pounds.

    Cindy

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Congratulations to you too for getting started. I had to go cold-turkey on the popcorn addiction thing. Now I let myself have the real thing once or twice a week.

      And on a new subject, your line-up vendors for your upcoming show looks fabulous!

  2. Cindy Pestka Says:

    Beth, thanks for sharing your story. I’ve heard so much about how much harder weight is to lose after a certain age, I began to think it was impossible, so why bother? It’s helpful to be reminded of a success story to keep things in perspective!

  3. Julie Says:

    Congratulations! That’s a major accomplishment!

    I did a similar thing, except I’m in my early 60’s… I lost 54 pounds last year – slowly. I want to lose another 15, but for now, I’m taking a small rest and finding out what this smaller me is like to haul around (definitely easier than the older, bigger, me). I joined Weight Watchers, but the process is the same – eat with an eye to more healthful foods, cut back on treats (and especially watch those you can’t have “just a little of”), and move… I can’t believe how much more delicious food is now that I am eating more fresh, home-made foods!

    One thing I learned is that one of the main tricks to keeping it off is to lose it slowly in the first place, and have it be due to real lifestyle changes, not a “diet”.

    Lots of luck and good things to you…

  4. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    Thanks for leaving the encouraging testimonial. Big congrats to you! Especially on keeping it off! I’ve been giving my too big clothes away, and buying a few things in my new size. It is really fun to be interested in clothes again.

  5. amberrose Says:

    Wow!! How inspiring! Way to go Beth!

  6. Frenchee le Trip Says:

    Beth, that is so awesome. You must feel wonderful. I’d love to lose 20 pounds, and your post is encouraging. I agree totally that the way to do it is gradually and being mindful, plus moving more. Even just that makes you feel better.

    Two quotes I have well etched in my mind

    “Nothing tastes as good as thin feels.”
    “Hunger is the best spice.” (eating when you’re actually hungry rather than needy is much more delicious)

    Thanks for sharing your accomplishment!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      The two quotes you shared are so true! I try hard to only eat when I am truly hungry these days, and food tastes amazingly better. I was quite the grazer before. Thanks for your supportive comments.

  7. Eileen Says:

    I am in total support of your new goal and you are an inspiration to all women who try to lose a little bit of weight and have hard time having the motivation to do so. GO BETH!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Thanks Eileen for your support and the nice cheer. I figure the more people I tell about this new achievement of mine, the harder it will be to backslide. It wouldn’t be any fun at all to do a future post that I had gained 30+ pounds!

  8. Krys Kirkpatrick Says:

    I am with you….trying to get the old thyroid back on track…but Those 30 lbs you lost…they found me!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      This whole aging gracefully thing has its’ challenges. I know my metabolism is trying to slow down. Thank goodness we get the big gifts of wisdom and happiness (and grandchildren!) at this stage as well.

  9. liz Says:

    Congratulations on this!! I understand exactly how you feel on both the de-cluttering and the weight issue . . . as I am working on both. Hopefully with similar results – I will let you know :) . . . xo – liz

  10. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    Thanks for your kind words. De-cluttering of all sorts is a constant challenge isn’t it?! I love vintage stuff and good food too much for my own good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

