Goodwill Goodness

My shopping spree at the Goodwill Outlet near my house came to a whopping total of $3.25! 

There was a brokers’ open house at our home, so I had to skedaddle somewhere.  First stop was getting an oil change for my car.  A responsible errand.  And a chance to start reading the latest issue of Where Women Create.  I realized the Goodwill Outlet was darn close to the car place.  Next thing I knew, I was digging through the bins of clothing.  The black print skirt fits like a dream, and has some stretch to it too.  I’m collecting cream colored wool sweaters to felt (shrink) and fashion into a patchwork throw blanket.  It was even an extra-large size.  And my score of the day – the Free People white skirt with the drapey ruffles.  I’ll cut off the waist band for another something, and dye this charcoal grey.

This kind of shopping is my idea of big fun!

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “Goodwill Goodness”

  1. Becky Says:

    Oh you did good at the Good Will! My daughter will be envious and mortified to hear you found a Free People skirt there and now you are cutting it apart!!!!! Her favorite designer lately and one she rarely can afford unless it’s at an outlet which is unusual.

    The felted blanket sounds wonderful

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Please console your daughter with the thought that the skirt will be an organ donor of sorts. The waist band will be a feature for some other upcycled clothing piece I’ll create. I have already rescued a rhinestone button from it, and squirreled it away for the bracelet workshop I’m doing at the Ruffles and Rust show.

      Shopping the Goodwill Outlet is such a rewarding treasure hunt. It’s also really good for toning those grandma arms of mine with all the digging that’s involved! Thanks so much for visiting my blog.

  2. Cindy Pestka Says:

    Beth, I’m totally impressed that you knew Free People was THE brand to search for. I had never heard of it before (Old Navy, anyone???) Tomorrow when I see my daughter I shall shamelessly sprinkle “Free People” throughout my conversation and impress her. Of course it could be like the time I tried singing along to rap music in our car and she said, “Mom, stop! You’re gonna get us shot!”

  3. Tracie Luthi Says:

    Goodwill is a favorite store of mine! I’m still inspired by your re-manipulation of the checked 1980′s dress. This fall, I think we should have a re-purposed sewing bee. PS Elsa is coming home from camp today, and I’ve been saving up all sorts of embarassing things for 3 weeks!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Tracie – I would love to do a sewing bee day where we reinvent clothing we already own. It’s my favorite thing to do these days. I’m sure Elsa will be able to hold her own quite nicely against your three week supply of potentially embarrassing behavior!

  4. Leonard Says:

    That old maxim “one person’s junk is another’s treasure” certainly applies here.

  5. Julie Sotomura Says:

    Beth, you continue to inspire me. Over and over.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

