You Know You’re a Hoarder When…

This is a classic hoarding habit of mine.  Every day I try to find some thing to leave our house.  I pulled these two pots out of a kitchen cupboard. 

I CAN’T REMEMBER WHAT I USED THEM FOR.  BUT I WANT TO KEEP THEM!

When our boys were little, I went through a gourmet cooking stage to express my creativity while keeping them alive.  I would save up and go to Sur La Table, back in the day when there was just the original shop at the Pike Place Market in Seattle.  I do remember these pans were not cheap.  They are plated in beautiful tin, made in France and have charming handles.

So I sent this picture to my friend bj, a long time foodie, asking what are these pans?  She knew right away that they were Charlotte molds, used for a dessert with lady fingers around the edges and filled with goodness. 

Even though I am not itching to make any Charlottes in the near future, I am going to hold onto these pans and use them some how.  Maybe to organize something.  

I’m okay with this de-cluttering backslide.  I’ve learned there’s not a whole lot of logic involved in holding onto certain things.  But I’m ready to open another cupboard, and see what can move on to a new home.

Tags: , ,

10 Responses to “You Know You’re a Hoarder When…”

  1. Mary T. Salmon Says:

    Our possessions collect fond memories over the years. It is very emotional for me to even try and do what you are doing. I applaud you for your efforts!
    Now, if only I could start on my quilting room!
    Mary

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Mary,

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and leaving a nice comment. I agree – this de-cluttering process is filled with the gamut of emotions. Getting started is the hardest step. I remember feeling overwhelmed. At that point, my stuff owned me, instead of the other way around. Please keep me posted on how you are doing with this.

  2. Cindy Pestka Says:

    Surely they would make clever storage vessels for some little pretty treasure? Says the woman whose entire house is full of “clever” gizmos!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      The trouble is you really do figure out very clever ways of using stuff! Seeing all the creative ways to re-use things is part gift/part curse. We’ll consider this gift a blessing.

  3. Lisa Hilderbrand Says:

    My first instinct was totally “organizing” opportunity…whew…they are pretty darn cute pans!

    Thanks for all the cool ‘stuff’ I got from you this weekend…now I need to address my hoarding instincts….but not today! ;)

  4. Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

    Hi Lisa,

    I will upgrade the contents from some more mundane containers to these swankier pans. And I could always do something crazy like make a fancy dessert in them!

  5. Deb @Retreat Says:

    Hmmmmmmnnnnnn… what COULD they be used for?

    Ice buckets for splits of wine…

    Filled with miniature pumpkins in fall, little pinecones in winter, softly dyed eggs in Spring, seashells in summer…

    Cut or potted flowers…

    …or maybe they could be turned into stellar pendant lights for a kitchen in a certain cottage… ‘gourmet lighting’ of sorts… eh?! ;0)

  6. Kimberly Says:

    When in the process of moving (horror no matter when, but especially if there’s a ton of stuff that hasn’t seen light in any form for … never mind), I pulled out many old, rolled-up posters of magazine picture collages. I decided to take digital photos of each one so I could still look at them, and now they don’t take up more space than the DVDs.

    I do the same thing now with any object that is strictly for looking at and that has no other purpose. I even take pictures of old pictures in albums that are falling apart.
    This saved me a lot of grief and confusion. It doesn’t work for everything of course but this gave me a foothold in trying to organize my stuff.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      This is a brilliant solution – to take digital pictures of our things, and save the memories that way. It is so interesting to run across items that have been buried for years – obviously not needed or they would have been closer to the surface – and then to still want to hold onto them. Your solution is most rational, while solving the sentimental attachment issues at the same time. Thanks for visiting my blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 117 other followers

