Hydrangea Heaven

This is the view of our hydrangea garden from our deck.  It is coming into its’ full glory this time of the year.  I envisioned a garden room with walls of hydrangeas when I planted it eight years ago.

Another view from the doorway to the room.

If I had to pick a favorite hydrangea, it would be Hamburg.  It starts off chartreuse, transitions to a beautiful blue and lasts until the late fall when it retires in shades of burgundy.  Plus it has the best frilly edges ever.

The first thing I will plant in our future, new garden will be more hydrangeas!

Tags: ,

13 Responses to “Hydrangea Heaven”

  1. sandra schneider Says:

    Beth, I LOVE your garden. It is an oasis of delightful surprises. Your hydrangeas are gorgeous. I have been working on a similar idea, not so much a room as a yard full of hydrangeas. They seem to be the one showy bloom that likes my yard or my style of gardening. I love to plant things, but I hold a grudge. If they don’t thrive, I don’t fuss over them. Thanks for posting such lush photos.
    Sandy

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      I am so with you on avoiding troublemakers or high maintenance plants in the garden. Shrubs are my true and loyal garden friends these days! I deadhead the hydrangeas once a year, and in return, they provide months of interest.

      Hope you are enjoying some time to relax in your garden with these perfect days we’ve been having.

      Beth

  2. Lisa Ross Says:

    What a beautiful outdoor blue room. Give me a good book & a glass of wine & I’m there!

  3. Cindy Pestka Says:

    Oh my goodness…all of my favorite colors all together! I get so fixated on immediate gratification sometimes that it’s wonderful to see an example of what careful planning can create for our future.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Cindy,

      I have gained a boatload of patience from the art of gardening. I can plan, and I can do, but I struggle with waiting for results. Mother Nature continues to teach me to slow down.

      Beth

  4. Deb Says:

    Love the garden–what a delightful respite…and one I know you will recreate in the new garden!!!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      It will be bittersweet to say goodbye to our garden. Although, I am looking forward to my chance for a garden do-over. I have learned a ton about gardening, made probably (literally, a ton) of mistakes and am now a wiser gardener. Blank slate here I come!

  5. Krys Kirkpatrick Says:

    Beautiful…I love this. Hydrangias are right up there with lilacs. But you get a lot more bang for your buck because they flower for so long.

    I love your new life choice! That is the same direction I am heading. I have rented out my house and am selling all my stuff. Hutch is also on the same track. We teach classes, (love to have you there!) will be selling patterns and only handmade things from us. No inventory! It feels great.

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Krys,

      Thanks so much for visiting my blog and sharing what’s going on with you. I would LOVE to teach at Hutch! Honored, in fact. I have been following your new path via your wonderful blog, which is inspiring. You’ve been on this road to simplicity longer than me. I’m grateful I finally steered my life onto this path.

      Beth

  6. mari Says:

    how beautiful! gotta love hydrangeas. my husband actually had the nerve to go out and count how many i have. such a stinker. yours are lovely!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Mari,

      Thanks for visiting my new blog! Well, I’m curious – how many hydrangeas did your husband count? At one point, I had over 60 – I love them a lot. I’ve given some away, and a few went to compost heaven.

      Happy summer to you!

      Beth

  7. Heidi Says:

    I love these in every color,especially blue. They are truly heavenly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

