Downtown Chic

I enjoyed Cortney and Robert Novogratz so much on their recent reality show, 9 by Design, on BRAVO that I had to order their book.  Downtown Chic arrived recently, and it’s my kind of book – useful info, great learn-from-our-mistakes stories and lots and lots of vibrant pictures.  Their eye for design is brave – they combine vintage pieces with ultra modern choices.  Plus they have seven children!  Check out their website, Sixx Design, to learn more about them.

So on our recent trip to NYC for our son Morgan’s wedding, we arrived a day before the festivities started to see some new neighborhoods in Manhattan.  Like any self-respecting nosy-butt, I wanted to see the Novogratz’s latest home, which was featured on the television show.

Here I am – looking quite pleased with my successful pilgrimage!

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Downtown Chic”

  1. Cindy Pestka Says:

    A) You are exactly the kind of “nosy-butt” I want to go on adventures with because you find the coolest stuff that way. And B) are those individual planks of wood, or is it some kind of faux finish paint job or what??? THIS nosy-butt needs to know!

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      Hi Cindy,

      I try to be a respectful nosy-butt.

      On the house’s siding, I think it was individual planks with the most fabulous faux wood painting. The views of it on the television show did not do it justice. I’m glad I got to see it up close and appreciate all the detail.

  2. linda/lulu Says:

    I am so with you about that show. I really loved them and the entire family. Would so love to get a look at that siding cuz I just hate it! Is it really OK in real life?

    • Beth Evans-Ramos Says:

      The siding probably has to be seen up close to really notice what a work of art it is. There are lots of details. I swear I saw fern prints and such in the pattern. What I admire so much about the Novogratz’s sense of style and design is that it isn’t safe or boring. And I get the biggest kick out of you and your views! Always honest, and always kind.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

