Purging (The Good Kind)

I woke up today and could let go of these three special pink depression glass pieces.  They are gorgeous, and belonged to a special aunt and uncle of mine.  I never used them.  But in that sentimentalist/packrat/hoarder mindset I had for so long, they brought me joy to possess.  It is still not easy to part with them.  I’ve learned though, how wonderful it feels to pass these things onto others who will take pleasure in owning them.  I will not forget how much I loved Aunt Iris and Uncle Ted.  And I’ll reinforce the feeling of freedom I’ve been experiencing from having less stuff to take care of. 

I’m practicing letting go of something every day now.  I’m strongest in the mornings.  I look at it as an installment plan.  A little progress every day.

Tags: , ,

6 Responses to “Purging (The Good Kind)”

  1. Cindy Pestka Says:

    What else can we possibly ask of ourselves but to make a little progress each day? I gained a little independence from my emotional attachment to my “stuff” when someone asked me, “If your house was on fire and you could only rescue a few things, what would they be?” and I realized that as long as all the people and pets were safe I really didn’t care. All of my possessions were so trivial compared to my loved ones. Granted, that lofty realization hasn’t encouraged me to purge as you have, but should I downsize one day, I hope it will help.

    Kudos to you!

  2. Tricia Says:

    Good for you! Stick to the “installment plan”. I have been paring down and simplifying for the past four years, and it is amazing how freeing it feels to be unencumbered of “stuff”.

  3. amy Says:

    beth – congrats on the new venture! sounds like lots of big changes. your blog looks great – love your masthead photo! best of luck
    amy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 116 other followers

